Wilkesley is a hamlet on the Cheshire/Shropshire borders. The parish of Dodcott-cum-Wilkesley is the largest in Cheshire, but has only about 300 people on the electoral register. Wilkesley itself consists of two farms and seven houses.

Information About Wilkesley.

This data is taken from the GEN UKI site here.

If you are feeling really bored you can browse pictures of all the milestones in the http://www.milestonesonline.co.uk/a525.htm | parish.

Dodcott cum Wilkesley was a township in Audlem and Wrenbury Parishes, Nantwich Hundred (SJ 5454), which became a civil parish in 1866. Including the hamlets of Burleydam (part), Butterley Heyes, Cheshire Fields, Combermere, Lightwood Green, Pinsley Green, Royal's Green, Smeaton Wood and Wilkesley. The population was 755 in 1801, 631 in 1851, 626 in 1901, and 451 in 1951.

Churches and Chapels.

Dodcott cum Wilkesley is divided between the ancient parishes of Audlem, St. James the Great, Acton, St. Mary and Wrenbury, St. Margaret (C of E) Burleydam, St. Michael & St. Mary (C of E). Founded 1735 as a chapel to Wrenbury; a separate parish from 1869 serving parts of Dodcott cum Wilkesley and Newhall (near Audlem). Registers of Baptisms 1770–1958 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office, where Bishop's Transcipts 1869–1922 can also be found. Registers of Marriages and Burials start in 1869 and are held at the church.

Local Government Districts.

  • Nantwich Rural Sanitary District (1875–94)
  • Nantwich Rural District (1894–1974)
  • Crewe & Nantwich (1974–2009)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Electoral Districts.

  • South Cheshire (1832–67)
  • West Cheshire (1868–85)
  • Eddisbury (1885–1948)
  • Crewe (1949–54)
  • Nantwich (1955–74)

Poor Law Unions.

  • Nantwich

Registration Districts.

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998+)

Parish Council.

You can find more local information about Wilkesley and local events from the Dodcott web site.